YA book review

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, Everything is an awesome YA novel. Fans of Eleanor and Park, The Fault in Our Stars, and/or If I Stay will love this novel with similar themes and style. Along with the regular story narrative, there are diary entries, illustrations, and lists which enhance the story and help readers to become more familiar with… Continue reading Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Adult Fiction book review

Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh

I enjoyed this modern day spin on Pride & Prejudice. It takes place in London, so it has the British quirkiness that I have come to love in a story. I would place Marianne Kavanagh in a similar category as authors JoJo Moyes and Sophie Kinsella. Eva and Kim are sisters living together, but on… Continue reading Don’t Get Me Wrong by Marianne Kavanagh

YA book review

What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

What We Saw is a fictional account of a teenage rape loosely inspired by the 2012 Steubenville, OH case where two high school football players were accused and then convicted of raping a teenage girl at a party. The details of the crime are horrific, and reading the news coverage incites anger and outrage in… Continue reading What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

Adult Fiction book review

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

This is a work of fiction that certainly lives up to all the hype and anticipation prior to its publication. I absolutely loved the book. I normally don't think about books being turned into movies right after I read them, but I felt like these characters are so interesting and that this would be great… Continue reading Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

Adult Fiction book review

The Ex by Alafair Burke

The Ex will be published January 26, 2016 by Harper. Olivia Randall has earned her reputation as one of New York City's top criminal defense attorneys. Her personal life is not as neat and tidy as her office life, but makes her an interesting main character. Out of the blue, she receives a call from a teenage girl… Continue reading The Ex by Alafair Burke

Adult Fiction book review

The Mountain Story by Lori Lansens

This is one of those works of fiction that sticks with the reader long after the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would highly recommend it. It is at its heart a survival story, but also a story of love and selflessness. Wolf is finally telling the story of everything that happened up… Continue reading The Mountain Story by Lori Lansens

Adult Fiction book review

The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block

This book will be published September 8, 2015 by Grand Central Publishing. The Girl Without a Name is a psychological suspense novel that I really enjoyed. Dr. Zoe Goldman is a psychiatrist completing her residency in the children's psych ward. Certain events in Zoe's past are still coming back to haunt her, and she actually sees… Continue reading The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block