Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

9780553496642_9ffdfEverything, Everything is an awesome YA novel. Fans of Eleanor and Park, The Fault in Our Stars, and/or If I Stay will love this novel with similar themes and style. Along with the regular story narrative, there are diary entries, illustrations, and lists which enhance the story and help readers to become more familiar with Maddy, the main character. Maddy has a rare disease that causes her to be very sick at times, but the triggers which cause sickness are unknown. And, for that reason, she hasn’t left her house in 17 years and has almost no face-to-face contact with the outside world. She reads books, some many times over. I loved the descriptions and reviews Maddy gives about books, and the way the author weaves in bits of famous literature to the novel. Aside from her mother, her daily nurse Carla, and the occasional visit from her tutor, Maddy only interacts with people through Skype, email, and IM. Until the day everything changes. A moving truck pulls up next door and Maddy looks out her window and sees Olly. Something about him tells her that her life will not be the same any longer. The author describes it best:

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

I loved everything about this book. The style of writing was direct, intense, and beautiful. At times, the relationships between Maddy and her mother, between Maddy and Carla, and between Maddy and Olly were filled with raw emotion that, as a reader, I could really feel. I laughed out loud as I read Olly’s shenanigans with the Bundt cake. I cried at the end, but I won’t tell you why. The illustrations, spoiler book reviews, and dictionary entries by Maddy throughout the book were wonderful and really added an extra dimension to the story. Also, being a book nerd and lover of pages, I loved that the story started with books and ended with a book. You’ll see what I mean. Just read it, and you’ll be in love with it just like me.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s