Adult Fiction book review

The Day He Went Away by Jennifer Millikin

TDHWA_Mockup1

THE DAY HE WENT AWAY by Jennifer Millikin has had a makeover and we are celebrating with a relaunch of the book! 
 
Read it for FREE in Kindle Unlimited: https://amzn.to/37kVwLZ
 
Add it to your TBR Pile: http://bit.ly/2TgD9DJ

Join Jennifer’s Group: 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/jennifer

 

About the Book

Life was roses. I was happy. I had my dream job. I’d finally fallen in love with the man who’d been waiting for me since he was a boy. Soon his four years in the Army would be over, and we’d be together forever. My perfect life was squarely in my palm. And then it was snatched from me. The harshest, cruelest truth became my reality.

And I turned into a shell of my former self. Then a stranger arrived, wearing Army fatigues and closely cropped dark hair. Fulfilling a promise to his comrade-in-arms brought him to my front door. And the focus of his promise, it turned out, was me. His mission was simple: Care for me. Heal me. Bring me back to life.

But what started out as an uncomplicated mission is quickly turning personal. He came here to take care of me. But neither of us expected how much he’d need me, too. And we definitely didn’t expect these feelings. My broken heart knows how wrong it is. We’ll fight it, harder than we’ve ever fought anything. But I’m afraid to win, and I’m even more terrified to lose. Of all his missions, I may be his most dangerous.

About the Author

Jennifer Millikin is a contemporary fiction author of five full-length novels and a contributor for Scottsdale Moms Blog. When she isn’t writing she can be found cooking, hiking, or in downward dog.
Website:  https://www.jennifermillikinwrites.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JenniferMillikinwrites

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jenmillwrites

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jenmillwrites/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14441655.Jennifer_Millikin

Amazon: https://amzn.to/2B08sZl

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jennifer-millikin

Reader Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/jennifermillikinreadergroup/

Librarian Laura’s Review of The Day He Went Away

Kate Masters and Ethan Shepherd have been best friends since they were very young, living next to each other as they grew up and spending most every waking moment together. They have shared so much of their lives with each other, and they even share a birthday. As they grew up, however, their best friend feelings grew into “I’m in love with you” feelings. Ethan is home in Phoenix, AZ, on leave from the military for 10 days before he heads back to Afghanistan for his final 10 month tour before he can be home for good. Kate finally confesses her love for him because she can’t hold it in any longer, and come to find out, Ethan has been in love with her for years. As the 10 days dwindle down, they find themselves thinking about a future together and savoring the precious time they can spend with each other.

But life doesn’t turn out the way they wanted it, and soon Kate is a shell of her former exuberant self, drowning her grief and loneliness in alcohol. But then Nick arrives because he made a promise to his Army brother, Ethan, that he plans to keep. Nick doesn’t realize how much his life will change as he gets to know Kate and see for himself why Ethan loved her so much. As Kate and Nick get to know one another, they realize that they need each other to get through the pain of losing Ethan. Fans of Rebecca Yarros, Susan Stoker, and Suzanne Brockmann will enjoy this book. It is a quick and enjoyable read full of romance and friendship.

Thank you to InkSlingerPR for providing me with an early copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s