Adult Fiction book review

The Name Curse by Brooke Burroughs

The Name Curse by Brooke Burroughs is set to be published by Montlake on August 31, 2021.

Bernie, named after her great-aunt Bernice, is sort of a workaholic. After her family, friends, and even her boss encourage her to take some much needed vacation, she finds herself accepting a hiking adventure trip to Alaska, compliments of her mother. Though her namesake was quite the adventuress, Bernie isn’t really the outdoorsy or adventurous type. But, vacation is vacation, so she decides to make the best of it.

Matthew, a struggling screenwriter, is looking forward to a week in nature to unplug and recharge his battery. An avid outdoors-man and lover of nature, Matthew takes a trip annually. He looks forward to hiking Denali, while he ponders a huge decision involving his always absent father and his sudden reappearance. When he arrives to meet the hiking group, Matthew is surprised to meet his tent-mate, Bernie. When has the name “Bernie” ever belonged to a female? And Bernie is not just any female…she is beautiful, completely clueless about camping, and aggravating to a fault.

As the week long hiking trip commences, readers will be treated to all sorts of hilarious characters, right alongside Matthew and Bernie. If you are thinking that a wilderness trip with its lack of plumbing, sweaty bodies, bugs, boring campfire food, blisters, and bears is not the best place for a romance to bloom, think again, my friends! The forced proximity of a shared tent between two attractive, single strangers gives this novel a bit of angsty romantic sizzle, and I am totally here for it. I loved the characters, the story line, and the slow burn romance in this delightful sophomore novel from Brooke Burroughs. Brooke’s first novel, The Marriage Code, is also a must-read (click the link to read my review).

Fans of Christina Lauren and Abby Jimenez will delight in this romantic comedy romp through the wilderness!

Special thanks to Brooke for providing me with an early review copy of this book in exchange for honest feedback.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s