Adult Fiction book review

The Letter Carrier by L.C. Lewis

About The Letter Carrier

Publication date: July 20, 2022

ISBN: 9781733823616

Paperback

322 pages

Synopsis:

When the German march across Europe reaches France, young Michelle Naget and her family join the throngs fleeing for safety. But their flight ends in capture by the Nazis, with one member of the family taken, while the rest of the family is sent back to their village of Braquis, France, to serve the enemy who has commandeered their home.

For the next four years, the Nagets live in the crosshairs of the enemy living under their roof and of the neighbors who question the family’s loyalties. Every day becomes a test of faith for Michelle-in God, in family, in the hope that the Allies will come, and in the letters from a young French rebel named Légère who promises Michelle that she will be free again.

But when the Nazis’ torment increases, and the razor-thin line between life and death narrows for the Nagets, the family’s motto, “We do what must be done,” and Michelle’s faith in God, give her the courage to face her enemy and do whatever she must to protect the family she loves.

About the Author

Laurie (L.C.) Lewis is the award winning author of fifteen novels. Her next novel, “Revenge Never Rests,” is set for an October 2022 release.

Laurie will always be a Marylander at heart—a weather-whining lover of crabs, American history, and the sea. She admits to being craft-challenged, and particularly lethal with a glue gun, It’s documented that she’s craft-challenged and particularly lethal with a glue gun, which is why she set her creative juices on writing which was less likely to burn her fingers. She’s also a devotee of sappy movies, fried chicken, and twinkle lights.

She’s a RONE Award Winner (The Dragons of Alsace Farm) and was twice named a New Apple Literary Award winner in 2017 (The Dragons of Alsace Farm), and in 2018, winning Best New Fiction (Love on a Limb.) She is also a BRAGG Medallion honoree, and she was twice named a Whitney Awards and USA Best Books Awards finalist.

Her website is www.laurielclewis.com.

Librarian Laura’s Review of The Letter Carrier

The Letter Carrier is a riveting historical fiction tale which takes place in the small, atmospheric village of France, called Braquis, during the Nazi occupation of World War II. It is based on true events in the life of Michelle Naget, whom the author interviewed extensively for a period of three years in order to tell Michelle’s heroic story. The Letter Carrier has heavy themes of faith, family, and courage despite horrifying odds.

It’s a coming of age story of a young girl named Michelle, who despite heartbreak, hardship, and unbelievable situations during a 4 year long Nazi occupation of her family home, grows into a very brave, confident young woman. Family and God are equally important to Michelle, as well as her siblings and parents. Her relationships with her mother, father, 4 brothers, and God helped her through so many terrifying, dangerous moments while the Nazi soldiers invading her home and village were in control of her own life and death.

The Naget family motto was “We do what must be done.” This very sentiment provides a strong lesson for anyone struggling or facing great odds, even in today’s world, as well. The story is well-written, intriguing, and hard to put down. It is filled with historical facts of this time period, French culture and custom, as well as courageous characters, namely young Michelle Naget and her family members.

Fans of Kate Quinn and Kristina McMorris will enjoy this captivating story. I truly loved it and I know you will as well.

Thank you to the author for providing me with an early review copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s