Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review

The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Originally published in Library Journal, March 22, 2019. Young Puerto Rican single mom, Angel Gomez, is almost through nursing school, while bartending at a high end club, the Peacock, in the evenings to pay the bills. Pregnant at 15, she then lost her mother at age 17, giving Angel an independent, tough exterior. Her older, brassy neighbor Gabriella, a… Continue reading The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Adult Fiction book review

Something Like Breathing by Angela Readman

Originally published in School Library Journal, February 2019. Gr 9 & Up: Readman's debut novel unfolds in 1950's Scotland, weaving together mystery and magical realism surrounding two young girls on a remote island. Lorrie's family moved from England to help her aging grandfather, Grumps, in the family whiskey distillery. At once intrigued by her shy… Continue reading Something Like Breathing by Angela Readman

Adult Fiction book review

The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

Originally published in Library Journal, January 2019. Jenoff seamlessly weaves together the stories of three remarkable women and the impact of WWII on their lives. In the New York train station, Grace Healy, a newly widowed legal secretary, stumbles upon a suitcase with the name Trigg, containing a dozen photos of women with only first… Continue reading The Lost Girls of Paris by Pam Jenoff

Adult Fiction book review

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Originally published in Library Journal, August 2018. Originally intended as a screenplay, this compelling debut historical fiction novel is based upon the life of Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew imprisoned for almost three years at Auschwitz-Birkenau, where he served as the tattooist. Soon after Lale, 25, arrives at Birkenau, he contracts typhus and is left… Continue reading The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Adult Fiction book review

One Day in December by Josie Silver

I was in the mood for a Christmas-y romance and this one totally hit the spot! Debut novel, One Day in December, by British author, Josie Silver, is the December book choice of celebrity & avid book lover, Reese Witherspoon's, Book Club called Hello Sunshine. I love a good forbidden romance, especially one as quirky as… Continue reading One Day in December by Josie Silver

Adult Fiction book review

Map of the Heart by Susan Wiggs

Map of the Heart will be published August 22, 2017. I was in the mood for a love story, and this one was a perfect fit. This is a modern-day romance mixed in with a healthy dose of historical fiction, historical mystery, and a forbidden historical romance. 36 year old widow and single mother, Camille, has… Continue reading Map of the Heart by Susan Wiggs

Adult Fiction book review

The River at Night by Erica Ferencik

The River at Night is one of the best suspenseful, action-packed thrillers that I've read in quite some time. It's a debut novel from author Erica Ferencik, and what a brilliant first novel it is! The story pacing rolls and twists erratically, much like the dangerous river Wini, Pia, Rachel, and Sandra are rafting through the… Continue reading The River at Night by Erica Ferencik