Adult Fiction book review

The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Originally published in Library Journal, March 22, 2019. Young Puerto Rican single mom, Angel Gomez, is almost through nursing school, while bartending at a high end club, the Peacock, in the evenings to pay the bills. Pregnant at 15, she then lost her mother at age 17, giving Angel an independent, tough exterior. Her older, brassy neighbor Gabriella, a… Continue reading The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Adult Fiction book review

What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand

Set for release on October 8th, 2019, the second installment in the Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the… Continue reading What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand

Recommended List

Best Rom-Com Books

Romantic Comedies Let's talk rom-coms. Literary rom-coms that is. I'm a huge sucker for a quick, lighthearted romance book. I'm not referring to what I would call cheesy, sappy romance (in the vein of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steel, etc.) or time period romance (i.e. the book covers with the scantily-clad women and long haired muscled man-beasts).… Continue reading Best Rom-Com Books

Adult Fiction book review

One Day in December by Josie Silver

I was in the mood for a Christmas-y romance and this one totally hit the spot! Debut novel, One Day in December, by British author, Josie Silver, is the December book choice of celebrity & avid book lover, Reese Witherspoon's, Book Club called Hello Sunshine. I love a good forbidden romance, especially one as quirky as… Continue reading One Day in December by Josie Silver

Adult Fiction book review

A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

A Spark of Light will be released on October 2, 2018. A Spark of Light is packed with fact-based research on both sides of the abortion debate. Readers will be absorbed into the impossible situations the characters on both side of the hotly debated issue are facing. This novel is thought-provoking and beautifully written. It… Continue reading A Spark of Light by Jodi Picoult

Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

Bring on the Summer! Elin Hilderbrand, the queen of Summer beach reads, has created yet another fast-paced, intriguing, and highly addictive Nantucket-based beach novel full of secrets and romance. The Perfect Couple will be released on June 19th, and I highly suggest it! Some popular characters from some of Elin's previous novels make an appearance,… Continue reading The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

Adult Fiction book review · Christian fiction

The Masterpiece by Francine Rivers

The Masterpiece is contemporary Christian fiction at its best. Having read and loved Redeeming Love, one of Rivers's previous novels, I had an inkling that I would enjoy her newest work, fittingly titled The Masterpiece. Many times Christian fiction can become a little too squeaky clean, which distracts from an exciting or enticing story line and pace. Being… Continue reading The Masterpiece by Francine Rivers