Adult Fiction book review

Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

Jill McCallister, a seasoned mystery author with a bad case of writer's block, is having a hard time coming up with an idea for a new book, which is due to her editor soon. Thinking it will refresh her brain and help her to reset and hopefully spark new ideas, she asks her for a… Continue reading Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

Adult Fiction book review

An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

  Originally published in Library Journal, January, 2020. After her hopes of a career as a songwriter in Nashville fizzled, 30-year-old Greer Hadley moved home to Madison, TN. Then her boyfriend Beau cheated on her. After a night of drinking and bad decisions, Greer is sentenced to serve 50 hours of community service at an organization… Continue reading An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

Adult Fiction book review

Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory

First, let me say that I've read ALL of Jasmine Guillory's novels and she is an amazing writer. I love the way she draws the character connections between the novels, as well as her uncanny ability to make me laugh and cry in the same book multiple times. She is awesome, and if you haven't… Continue reading Party of Two by Jasmine Guillory

Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

The Jetsetters was the March 2020 Reese's Hello Sunshine Book Club pick. With Reese's stamp of approval and that summer-vibes, bright and sunny cover, I knew this would be a good one. This novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub. It is the quintessential summer escape read. The Jetsetters is about… Continue reading The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Adult Fiction book review

Normal People by Sally Rooney

Irish author, Sally Rooney's, latest contemporary fiction novel, Normal People, is getting much more hype recently, thank to the series of the same name premiering on Hulu. Being a strict "read the book before watching the movie" person, I had to read the book before I watch. I did watch a trailer for the Hulu… Continue reading Normal People by Sally Rooney

Adult Fiction book review

The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

I've always been a big fan of Emily Giffin's books, my favorite being The One and Only. Her newest release (releasing June 2nd), The Lies That Bind, takes readers back to the never-forgotten, tumultuous time of September 11th. The story was not what I was expecting based upon her previous novels, but I enjoyed it… Continue reading The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

Adult Fiction book review

The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Originally published in Library Journal, March 22, 2019. Young Puerto Rican single mom, Angel Gomez, is almost through nursing school, while bartending at a high end club, the Peacock, in the evenings to pay the bills. Pregnant at 15, she then lost her mother at age 17, giving Angel an independent, tough exterior. Her older, brassy neighbor Gabriella, a… Continue reading The Perfect Date by Evelyn Lozada

Adult Fiction book review

What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand

Set for release on October 8th, 2019, the second installment in the Winter in Paradise series, What Happens in Paradise gives readers a little more insight into the story of the late Rosie Small and Russ Steele and their love affair that was tragically cut short when both were killed in a helicopter crash as the… Continue reading What Happens in Paradise by Elin Hilderbrand

Recommended List

Best Rom-Com Books

Romantic Comedies Let's talk rom-coms. Literary rom-coms that is. I'm a huge sucker for a quick, lighthearted romance book. I'm not referring to what I would call cheesy, sappy romance (in the vein of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steel, etc.) or time period romance (i.e. the book covers with the scantily-clad women and long haired muscled man-beasts).… Continue reading Best Rom-Com Books