Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review

The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

I'm not a huge series reader, but I must tell you about my all-time favorite series. I met author Penny Reid at the 2019 Book Bonanza in Dallas, TX this past August. Of the over 50 authors I met there, Penny was the most humble, kind, and hilarious one. I knew immediately that I would… Continue reading The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

Adult Fiction book review

Something Like Breathing by Angela Readman

Originally published in School Library Journal, February 2019. Gr 9 & Up: Readman's debut novel unfolds in 1950's Scotland, weaving together mystery and magical realism surrounding two young girls on a remote island. Lorrie's family moved from England to help her aging grandfather, Grumps, in the family whiskey distillery. At once intrigued by her shy… Continue reading Something Like Breathing by Angela Readman

Adult Fiction book review

The Latecomers by Helen Klein Ross

Originally published in Library Journal, October 15, 2018. In her third novel, Ross (What Was Mine; Making It) weaves a tale of the wealthy Hollingworth family and a secret that spans five generations. Rich historical details bring time periods to life from early 1900 wartime to the Great Depression and all the way up to September… Continue reading The Latecomers by Helen Klein Ross

Adult Fiction book review

Little Big Love by Katy Regan

Originally published in Library Journal, March 2018 A modern family drama unfolds in alternating points of view of authentic voices between a 10 year old named Zac who likes to collect facts and cook, his single mother, Juliet, and her father, Mick.  Juliet and Zac live on Harlequin Estate in Grimsby, a seaside town in… Continue reading Little Big Love by Katy Regan

Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

Bring on the Summer! Elin Hilderbrand, the queen of Summer beach reads, has created yet another fast-paced, intriguing, and highly addictive Nantucket-based beach novel full of secrets and romance. The Perfect Couple will be released on June 19th, and I highly suggest it! Some popular characters from some of Elin's previous novels make an appearance,… Continue reading The Perfect Couple by Elin Hilderbrand

Adult Fiction book review

One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

One Perfect Lie is due for publication from Macmillan on April 11, 2017. I always enjoy Scottoline's stand-alone novels. They are quick reads because they are hard to put down, with just enough mystery mixed into the story line to keep readers guessing until the very end. The topics of her novels are varied so… Continue reading One Perfect Lie by Lisa Scottoline

YA book review · Young Adult

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also a Star is set for release on November 1, 2016. Having absolutely adored Yoon's first novel, Everything, Everything, I have been very eager to read her newest work. The story provides a behind-the-scenes peek at how an undocumented immigrant has to live with the daily uncertainty of being sent away from her… Continue reading The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Adult Fiction book review

Winter Storms by Elin Hilderbrand

Winter Storms, which will release on October 4, 2016, is the third and final installment in the Winter Street trilogy, which is Elin Hilderbrand's annual Holiday Nantucket story of the Quinn family. I look forward to more time with the Quinn family every season, but just like Christmas festivities each year, the story always ends far too soon. The Quinn… Continue reading Winter Storms by Elin Hilderbrand

Adult Fiction book review

Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Truly, Madly, Guilty will be released on July 26, 2016. This is a story of a simple backyard cookout between three families, neighbors and friends, - 6 adults, 3 children, and dog. What could possibly go wrong? From the very beginning of the story, it's clear to the reader that something very bad happened at… Continue reading Truly, Madly, Guilty by Liane Moriarty