Adult Fiction book review

Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

Jill McCallister, a seasoned mystery author with a bad case of writer's block, is having a hard time coming up with an idea for a new book, which is due to her editor soon. Thinking it will refresh her brain and help her to reset and hopefully spark new ideas, she asks her for a… Continue reading Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

YA book review · Young Adult

The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Originally published in School Library Journal, January 2020. Gr 9 & Up: One of nine children, 16-year-old Stefania Podgorska, “Fusia,” leaves the farm in Bircza and moves to Przemysl to work for the Jewish Diamant family. Fusia, a Catholic, joins the Diamant household, but they are forcibly moved to the ghetto by Germans, leaving her… Continue reading The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Adult Fiction book review

An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

  Originally published in Library Journal, January, 2020. After her hopes of a career as a songwriter in Nashville fizzled, 30-year-old Greer Hadley moved home to Madison, TN. Then her boyfriend Beau cheated on her. After a night of drinking and bad decisions, Greer is sentenced to serve 50 hours of community service at an organization… Continue reading An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

Adult Fiction book review

Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Blurb If he kisses me right now, I’ll drown. Every sip of air is shallow and burning, because in the arms of my best friend’s brother, I’m the closest I’ve ever been to sin. His eyes flick to my lips, and I remember the first time I tasted him, seven years ago before I left… Continue reading Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Adult Fiction book review

The German House by Annette Hess

  Originally published in Library Journal, December 1, 2019. In 1963 Frankfurt, Germany, 24 year old Eva Bruhns is hired by David Miller, a Canadian investigator, as a Polish translator for the Auschwitz war crimes trial. Eva's memories of WWII are distant and vague, and her family refuses to comment on the war as she… Continue reading The German House by Annette Hess

Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review

Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

Real Men Knit, a hilarious new romantic comedy releases May 19th. Look at the adorable cover! Readers will delight in Jackson's diverse, charming characters and the hometown, loving sense of community in the Harlem neighborhood where this book takes place. Real Men Knit is a debut fiction, perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Jasmine… Continue reading Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

Adult Nonfiction

Educated by Tara Westover

Educated by Tara Westover has spent many weeks on the New York Times Bestseller List, and for good reason. It is a thought-provoking, unique coming of age memoir which is at times hard to read, because the content is disturbing. Yet at the same time, it is very interesting and I couldn't put it down… Continue reading Educated by Tara Westover

Adult Fiction book review

The Treble With Men by Piper Sheldon

The Treble with Men, the second book in the Scorned Women Society series is just as amazing as My Bare Lady, also by author Piper Sheldon. And would you look at that sparkly cover of bearded awesomeness!? Gah, it's so beautiful! This book takes place in Green Valley, Tennessee and is part of the Smartypants… Continue reading The Treble With Men by Piper Sheldon