The Heartbeats of Wing Jones by Katherine Weber

9780399555022_442bd

Review first appeared in School Library Journal, January 2017.

WEBBER, Katherine. The Heartbeats of Wing Jones. 336p. Delacorte Press. Mar. 2017. $17.99. ISBN 9780399555022.

Gr 8 Up – Set in 1990’s Atlanta, this coming-of-age story is realistic fiction with a touch of magical realism, is full of diverse and strong female characters. Bullied for her looks, Wing Jones, half Chinese and half black, doesn’t stand out like her football star, golden boy brother, Marcus. After a night of drinking, Marcus causes an accident, killing two people and ending up in a coma.  Unable to sleep at night, worrying for Marcus and living on the brink of poverty, Wing starts running. Though Marcus is one of the reasons Wing is running, she is able to step out of his shadow, finally feeling acceptance and accomplishment. Aaron, Marcus’s best friend and Wing’s long-time crush, is also a runner, providing a romantic element and additional distraction for Wing. Running gives her the courage to embrace her differences and stand out. Wing’s family back-story regarding her father is heartbreaking, revealed early on, explaining why her father is not in the picture. Wing lives with her mother and both grandmothers, and as such, is surrounded by female role models with take-charge attitudes. The plot moves along quickly, written in first person through Wing’s perspective of the changing world around her. Fans of Jandy Nelson and Stephanie Perkins will enjoy Webber’s debut novel. VERDICT A uniquely original novel about family, love, and the courage to stand up to life’s challenges and triumph which will delight teen readers. Recommended as a general purchase for all libraries.

Advertisements

The Summer Before Forever By Melissa Chambers

the summer before forever banner (1)

I am excited to be participating in the YA Reads Blog Tour for The Summer Before Forever by Melissa Chambers. Below is all the information about the book, followed by my review and a giveaway!

The Summer Before ForeverAbout the Book

The Summer Before Forever by Melissa Chambers
Published by Entangled Teen (YA Contemporary genre)
To be released August 22nd, 2016
Amazon
Entangled Teen
Barnes & Noble

Some boys break your heart. Others teach you how to heal it.

Chloe Stone’s life is a hot mess. Determined to stop being so freaking skittish, she packs up her quasi-famous best friend and heads to Florida. The goal? Complete the summer bucket list to end all bucket lists. The problem? Her hot soon-to-be stepbrother, Landon Jacobs.

Landon’s mom will throttle him if he even looks at his future stepsister the wrong way. Problem is, Chloe is everything he didn’t know he wanted, and that’s…inconvenient. Watching her tear it up on a karaoke stage, stand up to his asshole friend, and rock her first string bikini destroys his sanity.

But there’s more than their future family on the line. Landon is hiding something—something he knows will change how she feels about him—and she’s hiding something from him, too. And when the secrets come out, there’s a good chance neither will look at the other the same way again…

About the Author

melissa chambers

Melissa Chambers writes contemporary novels for young, new, and actual adults. A Nashville native, she spends her days working in the music industry and her nights tapping away at her keyboard. While she’s slightly obsessed with alt rock, she leaves the guitar playing to her husband and kid. She never misses a chance to play a tennis match, listen to an audiobook, or eat a bowl of ice cream. (Rocky road, please!) She’s a member of SCBWI and RWA including several local and online chapters thereof. She holds her B.S. in Communications from the University of Tennessee.
Website: http://www.melissachambers.com
Twitter: @MelChambersAuth

 

Librarian Laura’s Review

The Summer Before Forever is a classic forbidden love story, in which there seems to really be no way it can end well for the characters involved. The story line moves along quidkly, keeping the reader’s interest with alternating points of view between Chloe and Landon.

Chloe plans to spend the summer with her wild & crazy best friend, Jenna, at the beach in Florida without any cares or worries. Little does she know, her life is going to heat up in more ways than one in the Sunshine State. Upon arrival from her home in TN, she meets her dad’s fiance and future step-brother, Landon, for the first time. Rather than the geek she assumed he would be, Landon is instead an all-American heartthrob. He’s smart, gorgeous, gentlemanly, a football player and a wrestler. The total package. The only problem: he’ll be her step-brother later in the summer. Landon immediately takes notice in Chloe, and Chloe is drawn right to him even though she knows she should steer clear.

As they get to know one another oh so well, they begin to realize that summer will soon end. Landon will be off to college and Chloe will be back to her life in Tennessee. Will the end of the summer be the end of their heated, secret romance? Or, will they find a way to make things work before it’s too late. No doubt about it, Chloe’s summer in Florida will be a summer to remember.

Jenna’s character is hilarious – she’s the best friend that every girl wants – loyal to a fault, but crazy enough to keep life interesting. Jenna decides that Chloe needs to gain confidence so she makes is her personal mission, creating a confidence building list of tasks for Chloe to complete over the summer. As the summer wares on and Chloe’s confidence grows, she also becomes more comfortable with herself and her decisions. The novel is nicely combined with romance, humor, and coming-of-age elements.

The ending left me wanting more information on what would happen with Chloe and Landon, but I’m glad to see that it will be a series. I wonder what the next chapter will hold for them. I found some of the story to be predictable in parts, but all in all, I enjoyed it and would recommend it to fans of romance and contemporary YA fiction.

Click here for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift card!