Adult Fiction book review

Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

Jill McCallister, a seasoned mystery author with a bad case of writer's block, is having a hard time coming up with an idea for a new book, which is due to her editor soon. Thinking it will refresh her brain and help her to reset and hopefully spark new ideas, she asks her for a… Continue reading Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

YA book review · Young Adult

The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Originally published in School Library Journal, January 2020. Gr 9 & Up: One of nine children, 16-year-old Stefania Podgorska, “Fusia,” leaves the farm in Bircza and moves to Przemysl to work for the Jewish Diamant family. Fusia, a Catholic, joins the Diamant household, but they are forcibly moved to the ghetto by Germans, leaving her… Continue reading The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Adult Fiction book review

An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

  Originally published in Library Journal, January, 2020. After her hopes of a career as a songwriter in Nashville fizzled, 30-year-old Greer Hadley moved home to Madison, TN. Then her boyfriend Beau cheated on her. After a night of drinking and bad decisions, Greer is sentenced to serve 50 hours of community service at an organization… Continue reading An Everyday Hero by Laura Trentham

Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review

Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

The daughter of a lobsterman, Evvie Drake, was married to a well-respected doctor in a small seaside town in Maine. Everyone loved her husband for his bedside manner and friendly demeanor. Though she tried for years to look past his angry outbursts of slamming and throwing things and treating her like crap, Evvie couldn't bring… Continue reading Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review

The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

I've always been a big fan of Emily Giffin's books, my favorite being The One and Only. Her newest release (releasing June 2nd), The Lies That Bind, takes readers back to the never-forgotten, tumultuous time of September 11th. The story was not what I was expecting based upon her previous novels, but I enjoyed it… Continue reading The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

Adult Fiction book review

The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez

The Happy Ever After Playlist is a stand alone romantic comedy with all the feels you want in a romcom. For further enjoyment, it can be read as a follow-up to Abby Jimenez's first book, The Friend Zone, which features Kristin and Josh. The Happy Ever After Playlist is the story of Sloan, Kristin's best… Continue reading The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez

Adult Fiction book review

Don’t Go Stealing My Heart by Kelly Siskind

About The Book She wants to steal his Van Gogh. He wants to steal her heart. Some people would call Clementine Abernathy a criminal. She considers herself a modern day Robin Hood, who steals from the rich and gives to the poor. Not exactly on the up-and-up, but she knows what it's like to lose… Continue reading Don’t Go Stealing My Heart by Kelly Siskind

Adult Fiction book review

The New Husband by D.J. Palmer

A year and a half after her husband Glen goes missing, Nina Garrity, makes a decision to let Simon Fitch, her loving, attentive boyfriend, move in with she and her two teenage children in a new home. Glen, an investment banker, provided for the family financially, but ever since he never returned from a routine… Continue reading The New Husband by D.J. Palmer