Adult Fiction book review

Engagement & Espionage by Penny Reid

Engagement and Espionage, an all-new romantic comedy meets cozy mystery featuring fan favorites Jenn and Cletus Winston from New York Times bestselling author Penny Reid is now available! About the Book Jennifer Sylvester made her deal with the devil . . . and now they’re engaged! But all is not well in Green Valley. A… Continue reading Engagement & Espionage by Penny Reid

Adult Fiction book review

The Light After the War by Anita Abriel

Originally published in Library Journal, February 2020. Based on the incredible true story of her mother's life, Abriel's novel set during and immediately following WWII is both moving and captivating. Jewish teenagers in Budapest, Vera and Edith, narrowly escape from the cattle car headed to Auschwitz, carrying both of their mothers. Believing their parents and… Continue reading The Light After the War by Anita Abriel

Adult Fiction book review

Star Bright by Staci Hart

If this book doesn't bring you Gatsby vibes, I don't know what will! Star Bright is a new contemporary standalone romance novel by Staci Hart that brings all the glitz, glam, and lavishness of the social lives of a super rich group of trust fund kids. This is the first book in the new Bright… Continue reading Star Bright by Staci Hart

Adult Fiction book review

What You Wish For by Katherine Center

What You Wish For releases on July 14, 2020. As with all of Center's novels, I found this book compelling from the very start and ended up reading it mostly in one sitting. Center has a way with connecting characters to her readers, building empathy and investment from the outset. This particular book really hit… Continue reading What You Wish For by Katherine Center

Adult Fiction book review

Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

Jill McCallister, a seasoned mystery author with a bad case of writer's block, is having a hard time coming up with an idea for a new book, which is due to her editor soon. Thinking it will refresh her brain and help her to reset and hopefully spark new ideas, she asks her for a… Continue reading Love Starts Here by Traci Borum

YA book review · Young Adult

The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Originally published in School Library Journal, January 2020. Gr 9 & Up: One of nine children, 16-year-old Stefania Podgorska, “Fusia,” leaves the farm in Bircza and moves to Przemysl to work for the Jewish Diamant family. Fusia, a Catholic, joins the Diamant household, but they are forcibly moved to the ghetto by Germans, leaving her… Continue reading The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Adult Fiction book review

Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Blurb If he kisses me right now, I’ll drown. Every sip of air is shallow and burning, because in the arms of my best friend’s brother, I’m the closest I’ve ever been to sin. His eyes flick to my lips, and I remember the first time I tasted him, seven years ago before I left… Continue reading Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Adult Fiction book review

Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

Avery Abrams, once the most promising gymnast on her way to making the Olympic team, has just left LA and moved back to her hometown in Massachusetts. Avery's Olympic hopes were crushed seven years ago when a disaster of a performance ruined any hopes of fulfilling her dream. To further salt her wounds, her once… Continue reading Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

Adult Fiction book review

Faked by Karla Sorensen

Dedicated student Claire Ward agrees to do her identical twin sister, Lia, a favor. That's what twins do, right - help each other out when one of them has two things going on at the same time? Lia has a prior commitment for a class but her best friend, Finn, needs her to be his… Continue reading Faked by Karla Sorensen

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy