YA book review · Young Adult

The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Originally published in School Library Journal, January 2020. Gr 9 & Up: One of nine children, 16-year-old Stefania Podgorska, “Fusia,” leaves the farm in Bircza and moves to Przemysl to work for the Jewish Diamant family. Fusia, a Catholic, joins the Diamant household, but they are forcibly moved to the ghetto by Germans, leaving her… Continue reading The Light in Hidden Places by Sharon Cameron

Adult Fiction book review

Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Blurb If he kisses me right now, I’ll drown. Every sip of air is shallow and burning, because in the arms of my best friend’s brother, I’m the closest I’ve ever been to sin. His eyes flick to my lips, and I remember the first time I tasted him, seven years ago before I left… Continue reading Make Me Hate You by Kandi Steiner

Adult Fiction book review

Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

Avery Abrams, once the most promising gymnast on her way to making the Olympic team, has just left LA and moved back to her hometown in Massachusetts. Avery's Olympic hopes were crushed seven years ago when a disaster of a performance ruined any hopes of fulfilling her dream. To further salt her wounds, her once… Continue reading Head Over Heels by Hannah Orenstein

Adult Fiction book review

Faked by Karla Sorensen

Dedicated student Claire Ward agrees to do her identical twin sister, Lia, a favor. That's what twins do, right - help each other out when one of them has two things going on at the same time? Lia has a prior commitment for a class but her best friend, Finn, needs her to be his… Continue reading Faked by Karla Sorensen

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review

Stranger Ranger by Daisy Prescott

  About the Book New park ranger Daphne Baum is a reformed good girl. Breaking free from her overbearing family as soon as she turned eighteen, she’s been on her own ever since. The life of a park ranger, moving from park to park, suits her just fine. Though still a rule follower, she’s okay… Continue reading Stranger Ranger by Daisy Prescott

Adult Fiction book review

The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

I've always been a big fan of Emily Giffin's books, my favorite being The One and Only. Her newest release (releasing June 2nd), The Lies That Bind, takes readers back to the never-forgotten, tumultuous time of September 11th. The story was not what I was expecting based upon her previous novels, but I enjoyed it… Continue reading The Lies That Bind by Emily Giffin

Adult Fiction book review

A Secret for a Secret by Helena Hunting

About the Book A Secret for a Secret, an all-new forbidden standalone hockey romance from New York Times bestselling author Helena Hunting is coming May 12th! This is Book 3 in the All In series. From New York Times bestselling author Helena Hunting comes a new romance about trading secrets, breaking the rules, and playing… Continue reading A Secret for a Secret by Helena Hunting

Adult Fiction book review

Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

Real Men Knit, a hilarious new romantic comedy releases May 19th. Look at the adorable cover! Readers will delight in Jackson's diverse, charming characters and the hometown, loving sense of community in the Harlem neighborhood where this book takes place. Real Men Knit is a debut fiction, perfect for fans of Christina Lauren and Jasmine… Continue reading Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

Adult Fiction book review

Happy Trail by Daisy Prescott

Happy Trail is a hilarious and sweet romantic comedy that takes place on the Appalachian Trail. Ranger Jay Daniels lives in Green Valley, TN and he prefers the company of birds to people during his days working in the beautiful Great Smoky Mountains. During the middle of a month long hike on the AT, Olive… Continue reading Happy Trail by Daisy Prescott