The Boyfriend Blog by K.L. Grayson

thumbnail (1)

 

48224591._SY475_

About the Book
Boyfriend (n.)
1) A frequent or regular male companion with whom one has a romantic or sexual
relationship.
2) A myth. A legend. Impossible to find.
According to her eighty-year-old neighbor, Lizzie Donovan is looking for Mr. Right in all the wrong places. Though it’s made great fodder for her blog, Lizzie is finally tired of swiping left and awful blind dates, and she’s ready to take Mrs. Skinner’s advice and find love the old-fashioned way. Goodbye dating app, hello grocery store, book store, dog park, and wherever else she might be able to meet a good man. And she really has nothing to lose. Not only will she be entertained along the way, but even if she ends up alone, she’ll always have her longtime best friend, Aiden, by her side.

Friend zone (n.)
1) A situation in which a friendship exists between two people, one of whom has an
unreciprocated romantic or sexual interest in the other.
2) Location of Aiden Wallace.
According to his eighty-year-old neighbor, Aiden Wallace has been friend zoned. And that’s mostly his fault because instead of opening his eyes and seeing what was right in front of him, Aidan has spent the last several years enjoying the single life. But things have changed—he has changed—and now he needs his best friend, Lizzie, to stop shoving him into the friend zone so he can work at winning her heart. Until then, he’s stuck watching her string of dating disasters and wishing she’d believe him when he tells her he’s the one.

 

Librarian Laura’s Review of The Boyfriend Blog

If you like best friends to lovers romance with both steam and hilarity, this is the book for you. KL Grayson’s The Boyfriend Blog is a fast-paced romantic comedy sure to delight romance readers for it’s charming characters and laugh-out-loud funny dating charades.

Lizzie, unlike her happily married twin sister Emily, is not so lucky in the boyfriend department. Every time she tries dating, it doesn’t end well. In fact, it usually ends with her crying (literally) to her next door neighbor and best friend since childhood, Aiden. From a date who was secretly on two dates at the same time in the same restaurant to a date who introduced her to both his parents and his pregnant ex-wife during the date, Lizzie has unfortunately seen it all: the bad, the worse, and the downright ugly. With each failed date, her hope for a romantic future dwindles.

As an outlet for her frustrating dating life, she starts a blog, The Boyfriend Blog, where she recounts her experiences in the dating world, all the while keeping it a secret from even those closest to her, Emily and Aiden. The only catch…Aiden is in love with Lizzie and doesn’t know how she’ll react. He doesn’t want to lose his best friend. So when she leaves her laptop open and he happens to glance at it while in her apartment, he can’t help but read a blog post and formulate a plan to win the girl, once and for all. Lizzie also secretly loves Aiden, and she can’t stop thinking about that impulsive moment a few years ago when she passionately kissed Aiden, only to have him act like nothing happened and even refuse to talk to her about it. Lizzie has tried to bury her feelings for Aiden and opted for being his best friend. But, she can’t help the butterflies in her stomach when Aiden looks into her eyes or wraps his big, strong arms around her to comfort her after each failed date.

When Lizzie decides to give boyfriend #22, Aiden, a try, things heat right up in the very best way. But love isn’t always easy and Lizzie and Aiden will have to fight through a few major roadblocks on their road to happy ever after. Will boyfriend #22 be her last, or is Lizzie doomed for spinsterhood? You’ll have to read it and find out!

I really enjoyed this book. It’s definitely an adult book; I wouldn’t recommend it for teen readers. Readers will delight in the fun story line with just the right amount of steam to keep things interesting.

Thank you so much to Social Butterfly PR for the advanced copy in exchange for an honest review

About K.L. Grayson

K.L. Grayson resides in a small town outside of St. Louis, MO. She is entertained
daily by her extraordinary husband, who will forever inspire every good quality she
writes in a man. Her entire life rests in the palms of six dirty little hands, and when the
day is over and those pint-sized cherubs have been washed and tucked into bed, you can find her typing away furiously on her computer. She has a love for alpha-males,
brownies, reading, tattoos, sunglasses, and happy endings…and not particularly in that
order.
Connect with K.L. Grayson:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BooksbyKLGrayson/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/booksbyklgrayson/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/booksbyklgrayso/
Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/k-l-grayson

Sweet Sixteen by Brenda Rothert

download

It is my pleasure to be a tour stop for the blog tour of Sweet Sixteen by Brenda Rothert.

Sweet Sixteen by Brenda Rothert is a young adult contemporary romance novel with very mature themes and language. I would not recommend it for readers under the age of 18. I would place it in the New Adult Romance genre, even though the main characters are high school seniors.

Gin (unfortunately named Ginger for her fiery red locks) prefers to lessen the constant taunting from classmates, so she dyes her hair black and keeps to herself. For this, she gets called a lesbian and has only two real friends that she can count on to help her get through her senior year. Her only goal is to graduate and get as far away from Roper, Missouri as humanly possible, hopefully to New York to study art. In her free time, she swims, designs sets for the drama club, and volunteers to teach swimming lessons to kids. Though she has always harbored a crush for star football quarterback and town golden boy, Chase Matthews, Gin doesn’t act on it,  knowing she doesn’t even have a chance because he is way out of her league. And even if he would pay any attention to her, it would not be the kind of attention she needed to help her graduate and leave Roper as soon as possible. Gin knows all about Chase and the horrifying, disgusting “elite Sweet Sixteen” parties held by the football team after each game. In Roper, football is and always has been everything to the town, and Gin doesn’t want any part of it. When Gin sees an underclassman about to get beat up by bad girl, Ronnie, she steps in to defend her and gets beat up in her place. It’s just her luck that the girl she defended is one of Chase’s little sisters, bringing Chase closer to Gin than he’s ever been before. How can someone who looks at her so kindly and speaks to her as an equal be the same monster who lures young girls to parties to be victimized by the football team?

Chase Matthews could have any girl he wants. He has a choice of several full-ride scholarships to play football after graduation. But he is anything but happy, walking on eggshells at home around his abusive father. When he is thrown into close quarters with Gin Fielding after she bravely stands up for his little sister, Chase realizes that she isn’t the girl he thought she was. Thinking he is doing her a favor, he convinces the team to give her the next rose, allowing her to join the Sweet Sixteen. Little does he know, this is the worst decision he would possibly make, one that will ultimately lead to misery for both of them. How can Chase stop his bad behavior and prove to Gin that is he is sorry before its too late?

Sweet Sixteen is a quick read full of real characters and sweet moments. I would recommend it for fans of YA and NA contemporary romance. Again, it is very mature in nature and is recommended for readers age 18 and over.

 

BLURB:
They say roses are the most beautiful…

Gin Fielding is counting the days until she escapes the small-town life of Roper, Missouri for college at NYU. She prefers to blend in, though she’s far from invisible. But when she protects a younger student from a bully, the spotlight turns on her in ways she never imagined.

I say that every rose has its thorn…

The Friday night lights shine bright on Chase Matthews. Roper’s golden boy, Chase can do no wrong, enjoying the small-town celebrity being the star quarterback brings. When Gin defends his little sister against a bully, he decides to lend her his star power and change her senior year in ways she never imagined.

But maybe the thorns are part of their beauty.

When Gin declines Chase’s invitation to be part of the elite Sweet Sixteen, the repercussions turn both their lives upside down. But amidst the chaos, Gin and Chase find solace in one another. Together, they confront the ugly truth– that sometimes glory has a dark side.

***Warning–Sweet Sixteen is an upper YA book with mature themes and is intended for readers 18+.

 

About Brenda
Brenda Rothert is an Illinois native who was a print journalist for nine years. She made the jump from fact to fiction in 2013 and never looked back. From new adult to steamy contemporary romance, Brenda creates fresh characters in every story she tells. She’s a lover of Diet Coke, chocolate, lazy weekends and happily ever afters.

These days Brenda writes New Adult Romance in the Contemporary and Dystopian genres. She loves to hear from readers by email at bjrothert@sbcglobal.net. Her website is http://brendarothert.com/.

Thank you to InkSlinger PR for providing me with a review copy of this book.