Waiting for Fitz by Spencer Hyde

9781629725277_d7a2e

Originally published in School Library Journal, March 2019.

Gr 9 & Up – Midway through her senior year, 17-year-old Addie Foster is sent for inpatient psychiatric therapy at Seattle Regional Hospital for OCD. Quick-witted and literary-minded, she dreams of being a playwright. Making some unlikely, but unique friends from the first day of group therapy, Addie accepts that she needs help, while handsome, mysterious Fitz is desperate to leave after two years of treatment. Grieving and guilt-ridden, Fitz, a schizophrenic, mentions San Juan Island and the name Quentin, but not offering any details to Addie. Unlike Addie, whose supportive mother visits, Fitz’s mother blames him and has never visited. Innocent romance sparks for Fitz and Addie, their shared passion for literature kindling their companionship. When the truth of Fitz’s past is revealed to Addie, she is forced to take a painful look at their relationship and her own future. The ending is hopeful, albeit a touch predictable. Author Spencer Hyde, having spent much of his high school years in inpatient therapy for severe OCD, provides an accurate, honest rendering of teenage mental illness. VERDICT: Fans of John Green and Jennifer Niven will enjoy this realistic, yet PG portrayal of some heavy subject matter.

Advertisements

The Girl Without a Name by Sandra Block

This book will be published September 8, 2015 by Grand Central Publishing.

The Girl Without a Name is a psychological suspense novel that I really enjoyed. Dr. Zoe Goldman is a psychiatrist completing her residency in the children’s psych ward. Certain events in Zoe’s past are still coming back to haunt her, and she actually sees a psychiatrist herself, which is rather ironic. Zoe’s real mother and foster mother have both passed away and her only remaining family is her brother, Scotty, and dog, Arthur. She also has a boyfriend, Mike, who is an ER doctor. When a new patient arrives, Zoe begins to doubt some of the treatment courses the attending physician, Dr. Tad Berringer, prescribes. The patient, referred to as “Jane,” because her identity is unknown, is a young African American girl in a catatonic state who doesn’t remember where she came from, or how she ended up in the hospital. She has a peculiar scar on her ankle, and is mysteriously being given medications even though no once claims to have prescribed them for her. Zoe begins working alongside a seasoned police detective with whom she has come into contact in her past. She starts to uncover clues about “Jane,” and puts her own career in jeopardy to ensure that “Jane” is safe. It doesn’t help that Dr. Berringer is a married, heartthrob who begins to take more interest in Zoe after he informs her that he is getting a divorce. Will Zoe fall for his charm? How can she know who to trust with the truth about the patient. The plot is fast paced, and I read it very quickly.