The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

I’m not a huge series reader, but I must tell you about my all-time favorite series. I met author Penny Reid at the 2019 Book Bonanza in Dallas, TX this past August. Of the over 50 authors I met there, Penny was the most humble, kind, and hilarious one. I knew immediately that I would enjoy her books, and man was I spot-on! Her writing is so refreshing, full of hilarious banter, romantic escapades, and a strong bond between a Southern family of six bearded brothers living in small-town Green Valley, TN.  

Of all Reid’s books, my favorite are the Winston Brothers series. The first book in the series is called Truth or Beard and is the story of Duane Winston. Duane’s mama, Bethany, was the beloved town librarian but she passed away at a young age after a fairly quick battle with cancer. Sweet Bethany’s only bad habit was staying with Duane’s despicable daddy, Darrell Winston, who is in jail due to his illegal exploits with the local biker gang, the Iron Wraiths. Bethany and Darrell had 6 boys (Billy, Jethro, Cletus, red-headed twins Duane & Beau, Roscoe) and one girl, Ashley. The brothers are ultra-charming and handsome, but also prone to mischief. Reid’s characters are charming and unique, and she tackles tough issues very well with her tell-it-like-it-is dialogue. Cletus, Duane, and Beau run an auto mechanic shop in Green Valley. Jethro is a park ranger with a bit of a sordid past. Billy is a senator, and Roscoe, the baby of the family, becomes a veterinarian. Ashley took on a sort of sister-mom role to the guys when Bethany passed away. They are all very close, and Cletus is a main part of the glue holding them all together.

Each book in the series focuses on a different Winston brother and his romantic exploits. They can all be read as a standalone full-length romantic comedy, but are better enjoyed when read in the order of publication so readers can follow the progression of the family as it grows with marriages and births. It’s easy to spot these books for their creative cross-stitched covers, each depicting a different bearded Winston brother (and one of Ashley!). (Side note: I also love that Penny cross stitches, just like me! Nerds, unite!) My personal favorite of the brothers is Cletus because of his extensive vocabulary and extreme geekiness that only someone like he can pull off as cool. Not to mention his homemade sausage and special coffee. He makes me laugh so hard!

I hope you enjoy this series and let me know what you think! The fictional world of Green Valley, Tennessee that Penny created is so popular and loved, in fact, that now there are a whole bunch of other amazing authors writing book series that take place in Green Valley, TN. The Winston brothers make many appearances in the Smartypants Romance books, which I absolutely love! They are all part of the amazing Smartypants Romance group. For instance, the Donner Bakery series which is Cletus’s wife, Jenn’s, bakery and the Scorned Women Society series by Piper Sheridan which is the story of Suzie Samuels, and all of the women that heartthrob, bad-boy turned park ranger Jethro Winston left behind. And, my personal favorite, as a librarian of course, is the Green Valley Library series, which have amazing titles (Love in Due Time, Shelf Awareness, Crime and Periodicals, Prose Before Bros). I mean, come on, the titles alone make a librarian swoon! And there are a bunch more Smartypants Romance books launching this year. Yippeee!

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from Cletus Winston:

“Stay away from the normals, the small-minded people who fill their brains with small-minded pursuits, who blend in and keep up with the Joneses. Those people will tear you down and make you boring. Instead, surround yourself with the weirds. With the misfits, oddballs, and outcasts. Because the normals, bless their hearts, have no idea how to have fun.”

 

 

 

Faker by Sarah Smith

9781984805423_5d0b4

Faker delights readers with a multicultural office romance that developed from two coworkers who really can’t stand each other…until they can’t stand being away from each other. Hawaiian born Emmie Echavarre knows how to fake her way through many things, especially her days in the office at Nuts & Bolts, a power tool company full of men. Being one of the few women in the office causes her trips to the warehouse to be anxiety ridden. Her friends know her as easy going and fun but at work she fakes a tough persona, placing a no nonsense barrier between herself and her coworkers.  One coworker in particular, Tate Rasmussen, an all American white boy compete with curly blond hair and burly physique, has always been hostile with Emmie, scowling at her from his office where she has full view of his perfect biceps and curly locks. Even though he’s ridiculously handsome and swoony, Emmie forces herself to dish out the curtness and coldness right back to him. When the two are placed on a charity work team together to build a house, things heat up and scowls and grimaces turn to kisses and smoldering looks. Turns out neither Emmie or Tate are as bad as they thought each other were. Thus begins quite the adventure of a relationship, including an unforeseen emergency surgery & hospital stay for Emmie and a tension filled high school reunion for Tate. It’s also filled with some laugh-out-loud moments and tender moments between Emmie and Tate once his rough exterior is peeled away. Hang in there, readers, you’ll love it all the way to the end. Fans of Helena Hunting’s The Hating Game and Christina Lauren’s rom-coms will enjoy this debut romantic comedy from Sarah Smith. Thanks to Berkley for the advanced reader copy in exchange for an honest review.

Seaside Sweets by Melissa Chambers Cover Reveal & Review

COVER REVEAL!

SEASIDE SWEETS

Love Along Hwy 30A Series: Book One

RELEASING June 19th, 2018

Seaside Sweets is book one in the Love Along Highway 30A series, which features beautiful beach communities, a circle of unique and amazing friends, and romances that will have you cheering on the couples and fanning yourself from the heat. All books are standalone and can be enjoyed in or out of order.

After her crappy ex runs up her credit card, clears her bank account, and gets her fired, Seanna Perry makes her escape to the quaint beach town of Seaside, Florida. The houses are pastel, the ocean air heaven, and the men hot as the Gulf Coast sun … one in particular. But while paying the price, literally, for the last man she trusted with her heart, she’s not interested in any sort of beach romance, or so she keeps reminding herself.

Living in the idyllic coastal paradise of the 30A area hasn’t eased Blake Evans’ guilt over what went down three years ago. He can’t stop blaming himself, and certainly none of his wonderful friends can ever find out what happened. Blake’s done a good job of keeping romantic feelings toward any woman at bay, and he needs to keep it that way. But when Seanna begins to show him how to live again, he finds himself struggling to keep his guard up.

Add to your Goodreads

Available at Amazon for $.99

Free on Kindle Unlimited

Librarian Laura’s Review of Seaside Sweets

29 year old Seanna escapes from her gambling-addicted fiance, leaving Nashville behind to stay in Seaside, Florida with her hip, fun-loving Aunt Cassidy. Cassidy operates a bakery called Seaside Sweets. Upon her arrival, Seanna is pleasantly surprised to be met at the door by a shirtless, hotter-than-hot handyman, Blake, who claims to be doing some work for Cassidy. Seanna assumes they have more than a working relationship, and feels a bit disappointed because of her instant attraction to Blake. Blake feels the same about Seanna, but he is hiding out in Seaside after a tragic incident from his past forced him to leave Atlanta and his career start a new life in Seaside. Blake now has a comfortable life and great friends in Seaside, and he doesn’t want his ugly past and secrets to ruin any progress he has made at moving on.

As Blake and Seanna spend more time with each other, with the help of their rag-tag group of well-meaning, single friends, they get pretty hot and heavy very quickly, unable to keep their hands and minds off of each other. (Fair warning: There are some very steamy romantic scenes, so if you can’t take the heat, this one may not be for you. Heat level of 3.5 of 5.) Personally, I thought there was just enough steam to keep the story moving along and keep things interesting.

As with all secrets, they only stay buried so long. When Blake’s secrets are revealed, the aftermath will leave Blake, Seanna, and their group of friends in a tailspin. You’ll have to read it to find out what happens, because I won’t give out any spoilers. Also, look for the next two books in the Love Along Highway 30A series.

This is a great beach read, fast-paced, steamy romance, and humorous, genuine characters that readers will fall in love with and want to know better. Chambers has written an all-around entertaining love story that you won’t want to miss!

OTHER TITLES IN THE SERIES RELEASING SAME DAY!

Maya Forbes has never had a one-night-stand. With her irresponsible but brilliant sister filling the role of flighty one, Maya must live sensibly and dutifully. But when she meets a gorgeous redneck from Panama City Beach who makes her head whirl, she must quit thinking idiotic thoughts about upending her life after one week of mind-altering sex, especially with her dream promotion waiting for her back home.

Bo Harrison has lived his entire life in a tourist town where the women he meets are typically gone in a week. After a long-term relationship that left him mentally drained, he didn’t mind the easy, week-long romances for a while. But watching his best friend fall in love has him thinking along those lines, especially when he meets a woman unlike any he’s ever dated—smart, sexy, independent. The catch? She leaves in one week, of course.

With Shayla Harrison’s dangerous ex leaving rehab and headed her way, she needs to find a safe house and fast. When tall, dark, and ridiculously handsome Chase O’Neil offers a secure place to stay in beautiful Seagrove Beach for dirt cheap, she and her wallet can’t refuse. Romance is the last thing she wants, but the safety and warmth she feels with Chase are impossible to ignore.

Chase is the life of the party. He makes everyone laugh—whatever it takes to hide a soul-deep pain he can’t fix. He’s been living in romance purgatory since his son died and his marriage ended six years ago. When he meets the mysterious and intriguing Shayla, the emotional wall he’s worked so hard to build starts to crumble. She makes him want all the things he knows he can’t have, including her love.

Add to your Goodreads

Available at Amazon

Melissa Chambers writes contemporary novels for young, new, and actual adults. A Nashville native, she spends her days working in the music industry and her nights tapping away at her keyboard. While she’s slightly obsessed with alt rock, she leaves the guitar playing to her husband and kid. She never misses a chance to play a tennis match, listen to an audiobook, or eat a bowl of ice cream. (Rocky road, please!) She serves as president for the Music City Romance Writers and is the author of The Summer Before Forever and Falling for Forever (Entangled Teen).

WebsiteFacebookTwitterInstagramGoodreads

Enter Below to Win a $20 Amazon gift card!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 or find the giveaway here