Adult Fiction book review

Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey

Not Like the Movies is set to publish on July 7th. This is a stand alone romantic comedy from author Kerry Winfrey, whose previous romantic comedy Waiting for Tom Hanks was charming and enjoyable. This romantic comedy novel is set in a university town of Columbus, Ohio. The romance is subtle and the diverse cast… Continue reading Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey

Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

The Jetsetters was the March 2020 Reese's Hello Sunshine Book Club pick. With Reese's stamp of approval and that summer-vibes, bright and sunny cover, I knew this would be a good one. This novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub. It is the quintessential summer escape read. The Jetsetters is about… Continue reading The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Adult Fiction book review

Old Fashioned by Kandi Steiner

  Old Fashioned is #4 in the Becker Brothers series by the amazing Kandi Steiner. If you like slow-burn, Southern romance, then you'll love this series by Kandi Steiner. You could read them in any order, but reading them in order just makes for a more pleasurable reading experience. The order is: 1. On the… Continue reading Old Fashioned by Kandi Steiner

Adult Fiction book review

The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

I'm not a huge series reader, but I must tell you about my all-time favorite series. I met author Penny Reid at the 2019 Book Bonanza in Dallas, TX this past August. Of the over 50 authors I met there, Penny was the most humble, kind, and hilarious one. I knew immediately that I would… Continue reading The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

YA book review · Young Adult

The Voice in My Head by Dana L. Davis

Originally published in School Library Journal, May 2019. Gr. 9 & Up: Davis’s second YA novel set in Seattle, follows 18 year old black twins Indigo and Violet and their chaotic family on an unlikely road trip. While attempting suicide, Indigo hears a voice say that her terminally ill twin Violet will live if she… Continue reading The Voice in My Head by Dana L. Davis

Adult Fiction book review

Faker by Sarah Smith

Faker delights readers with a multicultural office romance that developed from two coworkers who really can't stand each other...until they can't stand being away from each other. Hawaiian born Emmie Echavarre knows how to fake her way through many things, especially her days in the office at Nuts & Bolts, a power tool company full of… Continue reading Faker by Sarah Smith

Adult Fiction book review

The Wartime Sisters by Lynda Cohen Loigman

Originally published in Library Journal, January 2019. Loigman's second novel follows Jewish sisters Ruth and Millie Kaplan from their childhood in Brooklyn to adulthood living at an armory base in Springfield, MA. The eldest by three years, Ruth is held to almost impossible standards, while Millie, with her striking looks and pleasing manner, gets away… Continue reading The Wartime Sisters by Lynda Cohen Loigman

YA book review · Young Adult

Till it Stops Beating by Hannah R. Goodman

Librarian Laura's Review Till it Stops Beating, a young adult realistic fiction from author Hannah R. Goodman tackles some very heavy themes including mental illness, alcoholism, sickness (cancer), and loss. The language and scenes are very mature, so I would not recommend it for readers under the age of 16. It is, however, a great book… Continue reading Till it Stops Beating by Hannah R. Goodman