Adult Fiction book review · New Adult

Little Lies by Helena Hunting

Lavender Waters and Kodiak Bowman grew up together and used to be close friends. Their fathers worked and played for the same NHL hockey team, and their mothers are also close friends. Kodiak is a few years older than Lavender and her twin brother River, and he's always been best friends with Lavender's older brother… Continue reading Little Lies by Helena Hunting

Adult Fiction book review

The Wreckage of Us by Brittainy Cherry

About the Book I know I should stay away from Ian Parker. But when my drug-dealing stepdad kicks me out, I have nowhere to go. Squatting in an abandoned shed on Ian’s grandpa’s farm seems like as good a plan as any. Ian finds me there, of course, and he insists on me moving into… Continue reading The Wreckage of Us by Brittainy Cherry

Adult Fiction book review

The Comeback by Ella Berman

An August Read with Jenna Book Club pick, The Comeback, debut novel by Ella Berman portrays a behind-the-scenes look at the not-so-glamourous side of growing up in the spotlight of Hollywood fame. This book tackles tough subjects of sexual assault, drug and alcohol abuse, and crumbling marital and familial relationships. The plot is rather timely… Continue reading The Comeback by Ella Berman

Adult Fiction book review

Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey

Not Like the Movies is set to publish on July 7th. This is a stand alone romantic comedy from author Kerry Winfrey, whose previous romantic comedy Waiting for Tom Hanks was charming and enjoyable. This romantic comedy novel is set in a university town of Columbus, Ohio. The romance is subtle and the diverse cast… Continue reading Not Like the Movies by Kerry Winfrey

Adult Fiction book review

If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

About the Book Sisters Amanda Foster and Erin Turner have little in common except the childhood bedroom they once shared and the certainty each feels that her way of life is best. Amanda follows the rules—at the school where she works; in her community; and as a picture-perfect daughter, wife, and mother-to-be. Erin follows her… Continue reading If You Must Know by Jamie Beck

Adult Fiction book review

The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Christina Clancy's debut novel will have readers both intrigued by and invested in the well-loved Cape Cod summer home and the members of the Gordon family who faithfully traveled there each summer long after the final pages end. Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Jennifer Weiner will delight in this novel, releasing June 2, 2020.… Continue reading The Second Home by Christina Clancy

Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

The Jetsetters was the March 2020 Reese's Hello Sunshine Book Club pick. With Reese's stamp of approval and that summer-vibes, bright and sunny cover, I knew this would be a good one. This novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub. It is the quintessential summer escape read. The Jetsetters is about… Continue reading The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Adult Fiction book review

Old Fashioned by Kandi Steiner

  Old Fashioned is #4 in the Becker Brothers series by the amazing Kandi Steiner. If you like slow-burn, Southern romance, then you'll love this series by Kandi Steiner. You could read them in any order, but reading them in order just makes for a more pleasurable reading experience. The order is: 1. On the… Continue reading Old Fashioned by Kandi Steiner

Adult Fiction book review

The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

I'm not a huge series reader, but I must tell you about my all-time favorite series. I met author Penny Reid at the 2019 Book Bonanza in Dallas, TX this past August. Of the over 50 authors I met there, Penny was the most humble, kind, and hilarious one. I knew immediately that I would… Continue reading The Winston Brothers series by Penny Reid

YA book review · Young Adult

The Voice in My Head by Dana L. Davis

Originally published in School Library Journal, May 2019. Gr. 9 & Up: Davis’s second YA novel set in Seattle, follows 18 year old black twins Indigo and Violet and their chaotic family on an unlikely road trip. While attempting suicide, Indigo hears a voice say that her terminally ill twin Violet will live if she… Continue reading The Voice in My Head by Dana L. Davis