Adult Fiction book review · Beach Read

The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

The Jetsetters was the March 2020 Reese's Hello Sunshine Book Club pick. With Reese's stamp of approval and that summer-vibes, bright and sunny cover, I knew this would be a good one. This novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub. It is the quintessential summer escape read. The Jetsetters is about… Continue reading The Jetsetters by Amanda Eyre Ward

Children's Book Review · Middle Grade Fiction

My Fate According to the Butterfly by Gail D. Villanueva

    My Fate According to the Butterfly is a wonderful debut, coming-of-age, middle grade fiction story that takes place in the Philippines. This is a beautiful portrayal of family, friendship, and forgiveness which tackles an important, tough subject - drug addiction, its affects on the abuser and their family, and the long recovery process.… Continue reading My Fate According to the Butterfly by Gail D. Villanueva

Adult Fiction book review · New Adult

A Favor for a Favor by Helena Hunting

Librarian Laura's Review of A Favor for a Favor Book 2 in the All In series was just as good, if not better than, the first one (A Lie for a Lie). Readers will be happy to see Rook (RJ) and Lainey pop up quite a bit in this story, which is Rook's little sister,… Continue reading A Favor for a Favor by Helena Hunting

Adult Fiction book review

Kind of Cursed by Stephanie Fournet

Librarian Laura's Review This is a sweet new multicultural romantic comedy that will cause you to both laugh & swoon. I loved it! Twenty-four year old Millie Delacroix has her hands full. Five months ago, her parents were killed in a freak accident, leaving her in charge of her three siblings: teenage twins Harry and… Continue reading Kind of Cursed by Stephanie Fournet

Adult Fiction book review · YA book review · Young Adult

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

After waiting 5 years for John Green to publish another young adult book, I can tell you with absolute certainty that the long wait was totally worth it! Turtles All the Way Down is the story of Aza Holmes, a 16 year old high school student, and her daily struggle with obsessive compulsive disorder. The author… Continue reading Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

YA book review · Young Adult

Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Without Merit is due for publication on October 3, 2017. Merit, a 17 year old senior in high school, has quite the interesting life. Merit's family of seven is quite possibly the most oddly dysfunctional family I've ever had the pleasure of reading about in a book. Merit and her twin sister, Honor, do not… Continue reading Without Merit by Colleen Hoover

Adult Fiction book review

Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

Lilac Girls is a beautiful, heartbreaking story of three strong-willed women with very unique backgrounds and circumstances, but each impacted greatly by WWII and the Holocaust. Kasia, a young Polish teenager was taken by train along with her mother and older sister to an all women's prison camp, Ravensbruck, where she and her sister Zuzanna… Continue reading Lilac Girls by Martha Hall Kelly

Adult Fiction book review

Family Tree by Susan Wiggs

Family Tree will be published on August 9, 2016 by William Morrow. This is a perfect romantic story for Fall, set mostly in Vermont during maple sugar collection season. Finishing it on the first day of Spring made me long for Fall a bit. Anna Rush Harlow is living in Manhattan, enjoying married life and… Continue reading Family Tree by Susan Wiggs

Adult Fiction book review

The Song of Hartgrove Hall by Natasha Solomons

The Song of Hartgrove Hall, written by Natasha Solomons, begins in post-WWII Britain in the 1940's. The story alternates between 1940s - 1960s Britain and present day, with the same family, the Fox-Talbots, inhabiting Hartgrove Hall. Hartgrove Hall itself has such a pivotal role in this story; the once stately, then crumbling, then restored once… Continue reading The Song of Hartgrove Hall by Natasha Solomons