Adult Fiction book review

The Happy Ever After Playlist by Abby Jimenez

51jtLtweDsL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_The Happy Ever After Playlist is a stand alone romantic comedy with all the feels you want in a romcom. For further enjoyment, it can be read as a follow-up to Abby Jimenez’s first book, The Friend Zone, which features Kristin and Josh. The Happy Ever After Playlist is the story of Sloan, Kristin’s best friend. This story takes place in Los Angeles and is told in multiple points of view between Sloan and Jason.

Ever since Sloan’s fiancé Brandon died in a motorcycle accident two years ago, she has been a shell of her once happy, exuberant self. A talented painter, sadly all Sloan can bring herself to paint now are commissioned prints that don’t require much in the way of creativity or passion. On her way to the cemetery to visit Brandon’s grave, which she does every year on the anniversary of his death, a big sloppy ball of fur gets in her way and drastically changes her future trajectory. On the dog’s collar it says, “Tucker, a good boy.” After finding out the owner’s phone number, Sloan begins calling Jason to try to get his dog returned to him. However her daily calls go unanswered and unreturned. Meanwhile, Sloan grows closer and closer to Tucker, taking him for walks, laughing at his retriever antics, and smiling again. Her best friends, Kristin and Josh are glad to see a big of the old Sloan coming back again. How will Sloan ever be able to give Tucker back? They find out that Tucker is a Nova Scotia duck tolling retriever – a hunting dog. Brandon was an avid hunter, a fact which makes Sloan wonder if Tucker was meant to find her. Is he a sign from Brandon?

So where is this Jason guy, and why has he been MIA for two weeks? Well, Jason is a famous singer/songwriter and he’s been on tour in Australia for the past two weeks. The person he had dog sitting Tucker was obviously not a good choice, seeing that Tucker got away and the person never even bothered to try to find him. When Jason finally finishes the tour and gets all of Sloan’s hilarious messages and daily updates about her time with Tucker and the photos she sends of their adventures, he can hardly believe his luck. Not only is Sloan hilarious and loving to Tucker, but she is also beautiful and sweet. Jason is smitten.

The only problem is that Jason’s life is not really conducive to settling down with a relationship. He is always on the move, traveling from tour to tour. He doesn’t even have a proper home, instead living out of a trailer so he’s mobile. How could anyone want to give up everything in order to travel with him? Especially a beautiful woman who is still grieving the sudden loss of her fiancé two years back. Well, I guess you’ll have to read it and find out for yourselves.

I would highly recommend this book for fans of Christina Lauren, Colleen Hoover, and K.A. Tucker. There is angst and romance and heartbreak and it’s so very good!

Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an early review copy of this book.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s